The Island Team

Vern Field, Managing Editor
Vern has led the editorial development of Island for the past 3.5 years. She serves ex officio as a member of the Island board and, in that capacity, contributes to the organisation’s governance and strategic development. Vern is an experienced professional writer, editor and proofreader, juggling her role at Island with a corporate communications role, freelance editing and parenting.

Judith Abell, Art Features Editor
Judith has served as art features editor for 3 years, coordinating the presentation and discussion of visual arts. Trained in architecture and fine arts, she is a practising artist and arts manager, and has written review articles for design and art publications over 15+ years.

Adelaide Reisz, Business Manager
Adelaide joined the team in May 2019. She has an extensive background in business management, marketing, PR and events management, with a special interest in the arts. Adelaide has been contributing to the Arts sector for over 12 years.

Kate Grieve, Finance Assistant
Kate is one of the founding directors of Wild Island Tasmania and has an extensive background in small business management within the arts sector. She now works with a number of arts-based businesses in a finance and administrative capacity.


Geoff Heriot, Chair
MComLaw, MA, GradDipBusAd, GAICD. Geoff has extensive high-level experience as a consultant on media governance, a corporate and editorial executive, and journalist/foreign correspondent. Among former roles with the ABC, he served variously as Chief of Corporate Planning and Governance, General Manager of Corporate Strategy, Head of ABC Education Services, and Controller of News and Programs at Radio Australia.

James Hattam, Deputy Chair
BEnvSc (Hon), GradCert River Health Management. James is CEO and formerly the Philanthropy and Engagement Manager of the not-for-profit Tasmanian Land Conservancy. He is a conservation ecologist by training with a strong commitment to supporting the role of not-for- profit enterprises in community development.

Alison Wells, Secretary/Public Officer
LLB (Hon), BA. Alison is a partner in the Tasmanian law firm Butler McIntyre & Butler, where she specialises in employment law. She has a lifelong interest in the performing and literary arts.

Dr Bastian Seidel, Treasurer
MMBS, PhD, MACHI, MRCGP, FRACGP. Bastian is a general practitioner and clinical professor at the University of Tasmania. He is also a passionate advocate of editorial and artistic excellence.

Vern Field, Ex Officio
BA (Hon), GradDip Editing & Publishing. Vern is Managing Editor of Island and a freelance editor with extensive experience of editing and publishing in the educational, scientific and corporate sectors. She has an academic background in English literature, and has lectured in writing, editing and publishing at a number of higher education institutions including Deakin University.

Editorial Advisors
A panel of former Island editors, Island contributors and Island supporters has been established as a forum of advice and critical feedback. Founding members of the Editorial Advisory Panel are:

  • Sarah Holland-Batt – outgoing poetry editor (2015–19)

  • Anica Boulanger-Mashberg – outgoing fiction editor (2016–19), former emerging editor (2008–09) and acting editor (2010)

  • Dr Matthew Lamb – former editor (201315) and board member (2015–17)

  • David Owen – former editor and board member (1999–2005)

  • Dr Pete Hay – former associate editor (1988–94), co-editor (1994) and board member (1995–99)

  • Adrienne Eberhard – former poetry editor (2008–11)

  • Rachel Edwards – former fiction editor (2012–13) and co-editor (2012–13)

  • Dr James Boyce – published author (4 nonfiction books; research associate at the University of Tasmania)

  • Jane Rawson – published author (3 novels; former environment editor of The Conversation)

  • Robbie Arnott – published author (debut novel published in 2018)

  • Dr Mary Knights – former board member (senior curator, TMAG)